Saturday, August 19

Media Center

Resources

Computer Passwords

Computer Passwords

Computer password requests must be made in the Library Media Center before 8:30 a.m.  If requests are made after that time the requests will be honored the following day.

Student I.D. Cards

Student I.D. Cards

Requests for new I.D. cards must be made to Mrs. Zastawny 8:30 each day. Requests made after that time will not be honored until the following day. The I.D. card is $5.00 to replace.

Online Magazines

Online Magazines

American Girl http://www.americangirl.com/agmg/index.html
BBC News http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/default.stm
CNN Newsroom http://www.cnn.com
Consumer Reports for Kids http://www.zillions.org/
FDA Consumer  http://www.fda.gov/fdac/
Find Articles.com  http://www.findarticles.com/
Google News  http://news.google.com/
Internet Public Library http://www.ipl.org/div/reading/
Kids Castle http://www.kidscastle.si.edu/
Library of Congress:  News and Resources on the Web http://www.loc.gov/rr/news/lists.html
National Geographic Kids http://www.nationalgeographic.com/ngkids/
News Central  http://www.all-links.com/newscentral/
Newspapers – USA and Worldwide http://www.refdesk.com/paper.html
News Now http://www.newsnow.co.uk/
Odyssey http://www.odysseymagazine.com/index.html
Science News for Kids http://www.sciencenewsforkids.org/
Sports Illustrated for Kids http://www.sikids.com/
Time for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/

Books

The Library Media Center has a collection of 16,559 books. This number includes fiction, non-fiction, and reference books. Magazines and reference books are not allowed to be checked out but during the library visit students are allowed to look at them as long as they like. Fines are not charged; however, if a student has an overdue book, he or she will be unable to check out any more books. If books are lost the student must pay replacement costs.

Card Catalog
Our entire card catalog is set up on 6 computers. Any student is allowed to look up books on these computers. The computers are also used for Reading Counts tests, Internet usage and word processing.
Library Usage
Passes provided by teachers are required for individual use.Teachers may schedule to have time with their entire class in the Library Media Center.
Student Library Media Center Assistants
Student assistants help shelve books and check books in and out. This is a 12 week class for eighth graders. The students receive a grade. Students must also read a book and write a review. Every 12 weeks the Library Media Center receives new recruits